Home General Paddle Craft

Different kid of boat... thinking about a "flats canoe" or similar.

SuperFlukeSuperFluke Posts: 1,889 Captain
I have been fishing from a Native Ultimate for several years. I use a 14.5 convertible in single mode for me, or double when I take one my kids out. I think we're starting to outgrow this craft. I'm thinking about an American Eagle (14' square stern) or a Gheenoe (15'4). I'd like a setup with oar locks and the option of motor for certain locations. Does anyone have any experience with either of these crafts or similar? Any comments or sage advice to add?

Replies

• Austins26Austins26 Posts: 1,989 Captain
    Yes I've owned 10-12 Gheenoe's over (only 2 brand New) One was a Custom Gheenoe LT25 (with a yami 25hp 2 stroke). I've paid between $300.-- an is much as 7.5k for a Custom model All Gheenoe's are great boats. But aren't rougher water boats. the 13 footers, 15'4", 15'6" Classic are wet rides if powered by an outboard. The Custom Gheenoe LT models are extremely dry rides very capable boats (albeit clammer water boats) Intercoastal, Mangrove, clam flats, Back country, dock type fishing.

outboard motor isn't needed with a gheenoe I've had 7 Noe's with just trolling motor... Hence the Phrase Running over fish to catch Fish
    Gheenoe's make great shallow water boats, or Bass Boats. Yes they'll manufacture you one to your specs. the sky's the limit. But in all honesty at some point your better off getting a Flats boat, for the price of a fully pimped Custom Gheenoe

All that said Gheenoe's are the only boat I never lost money on when sold. great little simplistic boats I'm fan others will Chime in Search Gheenoe, Custom Gheenoe, Capt Shane has had quite a few search his post an videos.

unpaid advertisement
    The Original HOTD poster
    680k views 360 plus posts Deleted by a so called Mod over a little cleavage

member since Oct 1998 long before most of You
  • SuperFlukeSuperFluke Posts: 1,889 Captain