Home Sportsman's Kitchen

Virgin smoker. Big or Small?

TailkillaTailkilla Posts: 202 Officer
I am new to the smoking world. Picked up a small Brinksman smoker at homedepot for 39.99. yesterday was my first attempt to smoke something. Made wings,whole chicken and 2 spanish macs.
Chicken came out good. I didnt like the fish though. Too soft.
Just have some questions..

Big chips or small?
Do you soak your chips?
Do you add charcoal as you go or is it just chips?
how do you know when something is finished smoking?
Any help would be great!

Replies

• nuclearfishnnuclearfishn Posts: 8,356 Admiral
    We need a smoking forum.
  • gandrfabgandrfab Posts: 21,685 AG
    Some great cooks and smokers here.
    Dig around here http://www.thesmokering.com/forum/index.php
    It's a forum dedicated to smoking food.
  • Capt'n. ChumbucketCapt'n. Chumbucket Posts: 1,366 Officer
    Boy this is gonna open up the dam to flow a river of opinons.
    Specializing in poor life choices since 1954.
  • HomerSimpsonHomerSimpson Posts: 6,573 Admiral
    not to be a jerk here, but the smoker you got is not a very good smoker. I use a UDS (ugly drum smoker built from 55 gallon drum) I use charcoal when I can't get Royal Oak lump coal

Ribs: couple hours at around 250. Done when you pick up one end and the ribs bend to form an "L" shape
    Butts: 12 hours at 220. Done when you can pull the bone out easily
    Brisket: 12 hours or more

Chicken breasts: I do about 1 hour at 275 put them in a tray of butter.
  • pupraiserpupraiser Posts: 10,261 AG
    not to be a jerk here, but the smoker you got is not a very good smoker.

What exactly is wrong with it?
    small, not very well insulated, not sealed very well
  • pupraiserpupraiser Posts: 10,261 AG
    small, not very well insulated, not sealed very well

It's a poor cobbler who blames his tools.
    :)
    pupraiser wrote: »

It's a poor cobbler who blames his tools.
    :)

so whats your excuse, she just can't be satsified? :grin