Home Tropics

Getting Started in Costa?

landlubberlandlubber Posts: 316 Deckhand
I have decided if I don't pursue my dream of living in Costa Rica now, it may slip away from me and I will hate myself forever. With that being said I am wondering if you guys have tips for starting a life there. I know some of the basics like a foreigner can't be hired if there's a tico available who can do the job. Living on a tourist visa means I have to leave for 3 days every 90 days. I can learn more about those basics by googling. When it comes to finding jobs I have been unsuccessful. I have looked at Craigslist Costa Rica and the Tico Times website but nothing more. I know a good amount of Spanish so Spanish classifieds would be just fine. I would like to do some form of ecotourism like guided hikes, fishing, ziplining and what not. In reality I want to pay basic bills and things while getting to wander the jungles and beaches on my spare time. I have a Bachelors in Biology; that is my passion. Teaching is something I really enjoy also. I already have classroom experience.

Aside from job searching I hope forum members can provide fishing info too. I want to live on the Pacific side for the roosterfish. I wouldn't have a boat so it would be purely land-based as my name suggests. Probably get a kayak after settling in. Where are good places to do such fishing? I have been to Jaco and my instinct is to go there for the booming tourist industry. What equipment would you bring? I have a Stradic and Saros 4000, Penn Conquer 7000, Shimano Speedmaster and a 4/0 wide. Are my bases covered for
Inshore pursuits? What lures are good for the fish in these waters like roosters, Cubera snapper, snook and tarpon? The 4/0 wide is for sharks and Cuberas. Are there such things as good bait & tackle stores there?

Replies

• GT FishGT Fish Posts: 9,448 Officer