Skip to main content
Home General Paddle Craft

What Pfd

Hunter85Hunter85 Posts: 110 Deckhand
I Am new to kayak fishing, and wondering what is the the preferred style life vest used? I have an automatic inflatable that I used when I fished bass tournaments. 

Replies

• Hunter85Hunter85 Posts: 110 Deckhand
    I should add that I will be using the kayak to fish in the flats, cruise the springs, and duck hunt with if that makes any difference.
  • krashkrash Posts: 831 Officer
    edited August 6 #3
    If I had an around the neck/chest inflatable I'd wear that.. for my SUP I use an around the waist inflatanble, but have the auto inflate disabled.
    For the kayak and canoe I have the inexpensive vest, I don't wear it but keep it quickly accesible as 99% of the time I'm on the shallow flats.

Its a personal choice. MAny people like the shorter vest stype with pockets for stuff.
    Old Fugger who just likes to fish
  • John McKroidJohn McKroid Posts: 4,087 Captain
    For the nearshore ocean, I fish with manual self-inflatables, and during the winter when it's a little cooler, I like the bahia model by Kokatat for all the extra pockets.  Your auto inflatable should be a good choice for inshore.  I don't use auto inflatable for offshore because there are too many situations (such as surf transit) where they would accidentally get inflated.
  • DrKDrK Posts: 261 Deckhand
    I have both kinds.  I haven't gotten in any situation that I needed to deploy my PFD.  I use the inflatable more often as I mainly fish the mudflats here in Jacksonville.  The thing I foresee is once I inflate it and that thing is bulging over the chest area, I don't expect I will be able to get back up on the kayak.  I will need to drag the yak to the side and get on it from shallow water. Being mainly in mudflats that itself might be an issue.  

When I fish the bridge pilings I prefer the non-inflatable in the hope I will be able to get back up while in deep water