Skip to main content
Home General Hunting

Is Early teal season worth it?

Duck_Slam123Duck_Slam123 South Florida Posts: 62 Deckhand
So I got “lucky” and I say lucky in quotations because I’m not sure anymore and I got quotas 2 years in a row for early teal and wooduck. Once on opening day at at A1-FEB and another halfway through at one of the STA and both years got skunked. Now I’m still pretty new to the game so I fully accept the fact that it’s me and I just don’t know what I’m doing but I wasn’t the only one skunked. Plenty of guys made it back to the boat ramp empty handed. One older gentleman last year on A1 came back with one blue wing and said “Birds ain’t down here yet.” Then he left while me and my buddy went out again in the afternoon with no luck. Plenty of BBWs and Mottled ducks flew over and into our spread all day long but no teal. 
Coming up on the last few years of college I do a lot of research on the marshes and sometimes that includes my favorite which is waterfowl and I just don’t think the birds are here in early season. I think November depending on how cold it is up north is when the majority of birds come down. I know because we started counting and surveying  plenty of ring necks, teal, blue bulls and etc. when I came down for thanksgiving there were large amounts of birds flying over  A1 while I had no permit. I even shot my first wigeon around this time. Then in December and January  is when I saw more birds and shot more birds consistently. Mostly teal but that’s just fine. 
So my question to you good people on this forum is do you think it’s worth applying for an early season quota? Or has it just been bad years? Please call me out if I’m just a newbie and I don’t know what I’m doing to if you think so.
-Thank you Jay

Replies

• bowhunter4lifebowhunter4life Posts: 2,111 Captain
    Teal season on a popular public spot about 25 years ago. Every early season is hit or miss.
  • H20dadH20dad Posts: 2,963 Captain