Skip to main content
Home General Fishing

Bottom fishing offshore

srqfishing941srqfishing941 Sarasota Posts: 1 Greenhorn
I bought 2 setups to go offshore with. I have a Shimano speed master 12 with 65lbs braid paired with a mojo salt rod. 

I also bought a 7500 spinfisher because I like using spinning reels offshore sometimes. I have it paired with a Shimano talica px rod. Rated 40-80 lb braid. 
What pound braid would you guys put on the spinning reel?
going after American red snapper, grouper, amberjack. As big as they come. Looking to fill the freezer but also don’t want to over do it on the braid. Will be fishing a lot of structure so will need to horse em out and put a lot of heat on em. 

Replies

• bigfinn35bigfinn35 Sarasota/VenicePosts: 1,112 Officer
    edited June 8 #2
    first off, if you want a setup for big grouper and AJs on heavy structure, and aren't planning to do finesse fishing like slow-pitch jigging, use the conventional reel. You really need that cranking power if using a heavy setup like that for truly large bottom fish on heavy structure. Different story if you're fishing freshwater springs, flat areas of hard bottom, or other low-relief structure that holds bottom fish.

For most bottom fishing and fun-size AJs (anything under 40 lbs in my book) though, the spinning setup should be fine. I use 40lb braid on my heavy spinning setups, anything larger than that is just overkill because your spinning reel's drag won't be able to put up higher resistance than that. So stay a bit lighter and keep the extra sensitivity that gets you. Most braid sold these days actually has a considerably higher breaking strength than it's marketed with, anyhow.