Home General Paddle Craft

Miami snook

JSnooker2006JSnooker2006 MiamiPosts: 31 Deckhand
I have been fishing in Miami for 7 years and have only caught 2 snook that where about 24 inches, I have found snook over 40 in the coral gables waterway but they don’t bite I have throw live mullet dead mullet head and live shrimp and they don’t bite I use 30 pound flouro and fish under the mayanada bridge but I can’t get one to bite is there anything I’m doing wrong or should I try a different location

Replies

• krashkrash Posts: 741 Officer
    I'd be casting top-water spook's at sun rise, and big paddle tail's after the sun rises.

Old Fugger who just likes to fish
  • JSnooker2006JSnooker2006 MiamiPosts: 31 Deckhand
    have u fished there?

• Sixth GenerationSixth Generation Posts: 910 Officer
    I havent fished there but big snook can get lock jaw fairly easily.  If you can see them, they can see you as well...  Current, low light is best.  Presentation is also key.  Sometimes you have to allow the bait to drift by with the current and not pin it on the bottom with weight, even though i have caught them like that as well.  A jumbo shrimp free lined with a 1/4 oz split shot on a 5/0 Owner mutu light circle hook is what I use on 40 lb flouro.  I have fished bridges and marina docks and you have to slip in on them.  They have seen lots of tricks and the less they know they are being targeted the better.  Good luck and I hope you catch one over 40"!
  • The Cat's EyeThe Cat's Eye Posts: 1,563 Captain