Home Northeast (3 Forums) Northeast General Fishing & The Outdoors

Mahi trolling

When trolling bluewater, is it a waste of time trolling islander lures without ballyhoo - or is it / can it be still effective for mahi, BFT, wahoo -  thanks for your thoughts on that

Replies

• LakotaRainLakotaRain JaxPosts: 37 Deckhand
    Not sure about trolling without the ballyhoo..  I have found some success with this artificial..  I got frustrated after a few bad lots of pre-rigged baits....  I have since figured out how to rig my own.  It also comes rigged naked with a circle hook. 
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001NXC1X2/ref=ox_sc_saved_title_8?smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&th=1
    25 Sea Fox Voyager...

• fishlawfishlaw Posts: 25 Deckhand

I am no expert, but when I troll an Islander, I use ballyhoo. For BF tuna, I usually just troll feathers, way back.

• DoradoDreaminDoradoDreamin Posts: 2,058 Captain
    We rarely run ballyhoo on top.  Mostly various lures with a piece of squid teaser on the hook.  Had great luck with Alien XLs, wahoo whackers, Lil Stuffys, etc. for the smaller fish with most of our bigger fish caught on ballyhoo behind a planer down deep.   We found we lost a lot of ballyhoo to small cudas when we ran them up top.
  • LakotaRainLakotaRain JaxPosts: 37 Deckhand
    We rarely run ballyhoo on top.  Mostly various lures with a piece of squid teaser on the hook.  Had great luck with Alien XLs, wahoo whackers, Lil Stuffys, etc. for the smaller fish with most of our bigger fish caught on ballyhoo behind a planer down deep.   We found we lost a lot of ballyhoo to small cudas when we ran them up top.
    That's great advice..  Honestly, I have never tried putting a piece of squid on back of a lure..  Assume you have to troll it pretty slow to keep it on the hook..

25 Sea Fox Voyager...

That's great advice..  Honestly, I have never tried putting a piece of squid on back of a lure..  Assume you have to troll it pretty slow to keep it on the hook..