Home General Hunting

new to hunting

cityguycityguy pasco countyPosts: 8 Deckhand
Hey guys. Im new to Florida. i would like to get into hunting and learning my way around.
is there any advice you would like to share. If anyone would like to take a new guy under their wing and teach me a few tricks i would be truly grateful.
i am located in pasco county but i dont mind driving anywhere. 

Replies

• swampdogswampdog Central FloridaPosts: 903 Officer
    Welcome aboard new guy! Do you have any hunting experience? Do you have a hunter safety card? What do you want to hunt?
  • MissedMissed O-townPosts: 163 Deckhand
    The quota application period is in May.

You have some time to go to FWC website, see the hunt areas near you and possibly go scout prior to the application and draw period.
  • gritsnhuntin1gritsnhuntin1 Posts: 1,165 Officer
    Welcome to the forum.
  • cityguycityguy pasco countyPosts: 8 Deckhand
    Thank you guys @swampdog. I dont have any experience what so ever. i just moved down from Manhattan try to change my lifestyle. I have been told to look into FWC classes. i guess that is my best start. i would also like to get some experience from the locals. I apologize for the late response.  
  • Crkr23Crkr23 MelrosePosts: 40 Deckhand
    I think the FWC may have some mentor programs to introduce people to   hunting 
  • turkeymanturkeyman Fort whitePosts: 84 Deckhand
    Welcome to the forum. 
    Im not in your area, not much help to you as far as taking you.