Newbie wants information

IcemanIceman Posts: 24 Greenhorn
Newbie wants information!
I am a newbie, and plan on purchasing a 26' center council either a Scout or Everglades in the next few weeks. I would like some ideas as to what kind of equipment I need to purchase. I have fished in the Great Lakes for over 40 years and some charters in the Oceans. I plan on living in Marathon island during the winter. I would like to be set up for some bottom fishing, then the tuna's at the humps, and then for the majestic sails. I would like to start up with two sets of four rods and reels, what kind of reels, rods, gaff, throw net and etc. I would appreciate any ideas and best places to purchase any of the equipment.

Replies

• Go MongoGo Mongo Posts: 2,107 Captain
    Some may not like what I am about to tell you, but to be honest based on the information you provided, I would not purchase anything right now. My advice (for what it is worth) is to get set up for your first winter, hang out with the locals, take some chartered fishing trips and spend a season figuring out what you may like/need. Less expensive than spending alot of money on what you think you may need and finding that you are wrong.

For your first season, put your resources into "experience" with some knowledgable capitans and guides. There are many great ones down in the keys.

After your first season, reevaluate. At that point you will know better what you want and need.

Good luck.
    “Every day is a new day. It is better to be lucky. But I would rather be exact. Then when luck comes you are ready.”
    ― Ernest Hemingway, The Old Man and the Sea
  • nicknick Crystal RiverPosts: 4,839 Captain
  • lemaymiamilemaymiami Posts: 3,438 Captain