Home Southwest General Fishing & The Outdoors

Northern Fort Myers in January

braymzbraymz Janesville, WIPosts: 5 Greenhorn
I am new to saltwater (residing in wisconsin), but myself and a few friends will be down in the North Fort Myers area in a few weeks, staying near the "Marsh Point" on Google maps. Are there any good areas to shore/kayak fish in that area? If not, how close to the gulf would we need to go for fish like snapper, sheepshead, snook, redfish, and shark?  Also, do the area freshwater canals hold many fish? Thanks in advance for any information, because we are going in somewhat blind!

Replies

• lavishbicyclelavishbicycle Cape CoralPosts: 3 Greenhorn
    Not really any good shore fishing in that area, but you can take the kayaks to the nearby canals and target the docks for snook, should be lots of them there this time of year.  Also, its probably like a mile or so paddle, but the railroad trestle crossing the river is usually a hotspot for snook, especially during the winter.
  • braymzbraymz Janesville, WIPosts: 5 Greenhorn
    edited January 7 #3
    Thank you for the info! As for the railroad bridge, would it be a better bet to try the two sections near Russell Park or the main river. Also, would baits like live pinfish, small mullet, and shrimp work well for river/canal snook?
  • lavishbicyclelavishbicycle Cape CoralPosts: 3 Greenhorn
    I've had success on both sides.  Not sure one is better, though depending on the day you go, towards the park (away from the channel) will have less boat traffic, which is good in a kayak.  Free lined shrimp would work great and I prefer to pinfish and mullet (will likely be hard to find).  Artificials like paddle tails on a jig head, gulp shrimp, and flairhawk jigs will also work.
    Awesome, thanks again for all the information, I will definitely put it to use!
  • MulletMaster239MulletMaster239 Southwest FloridaPosts: 343 Deckhand
    braymz said: