Home General Hunting

Duck taxidermy tampa

noelg11892noelg11892 Posts: 265 Deckhand
Hey guys, so this is my first year duck hunting, and me n my buddies have found a little greenhead spot, if I’m able to take a greenhead as my first duck I wanna mount it, first off how do I prep duck for taxidermy, I’m familiar with big game not so much with ducks, and does any one have a good taxidermist in the Tampa bay area

Replies

• micci_manmicci_man Somewhere in FLPosts: 14,463 AG
    I tuck their head under the wing and put it in a pantyhose head first then put in freezer. Not sure of any place down their to have one mounted. 
    Common Sense can't be bought, taught or gifted, yet it is one of the few things in life that is free, and most refuse to even attempt to possess it. - Miguel Cervantes
  • MRichardsonMRichardson Posts: 10,326 AG
    Those Tampa greenheads are a rarity.
    I have never seen live bones, but I know that they are often used by rich people to decorate the interior.
  • PinmanPinman Posts: 2,650 Captain
    micci_man said:
    I tuck their head under the wing and put it in a pantyhose head first then put in freezer. Not sure of any place down their to have one mounted. 

Ill add that Ive heard to put them in a plastic bag so they don't dry out.
  • cracker4112cracker4112 Posts: 822 Officer
    I have a taxi in the family and he always recommended to clean off whatever blood you can with a paper towel, dry the bird, place them in a plastic bag, freeze, and take to the taxidermist.

I can't give any first hand recommendations in Tampa since I always used Bill Comstock (RIP). But I do know that Lee's in Largo will do birds. There is also a man named Bill Richkus who recently moved to St. Pete who is an accomplished taxi from MD or VA. He showed me some pictures of his work that looked great. I'm sure you could google him.
  • Big MakBig Mak Posts: 3,371 Captain
    Is Irving still mounting ducks over there?
  • Reel TealReel Teal Posts: 3,927 Captain