Replies

• SpineymanSpineyman Destin, FlPosts: 8,157 Admiral
    At that point it is time for me to find another sport!

Kayak Rookie...and loving it.
    Fishing beautiful Destin / Ft Walton Beach area!

II Chronicles 7:14
    if My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land.

• Westwall01Westwall01 Posts: 5,453 Admiral
    Code Brown Code Brown
  • biglarbiglar Posts: 179 Deckhand
    edited October 9 #4
    I was a scuba instructor (NAUI #1410) in SoCal from '69 to '76, managed a dive shop and certified over 2,000 students in that time.  Most checkout dives were at Catalina Island.  Never did see a shark - aside from little Leopard Sharks - in all those 100s of dives.

If I'd seen something like that while in the water.....??  I dunno, would've been tough to go back in for the next dive.

Related - one of my favorite dive sites was the channel between Santa Cruz and Anacapa Islands, where we'd dive the ridges at ~100+ ft or so.  (Never with students)  Saw a few years ago where a record 800# Mako was caught right there.  Think I'd have had heart failure.
  • John McKroidJohn McKroid Posts: 1,842 Captain
    biglar said:
    I was a scuba instructor (NAUI #1410) in SoCal from '69 to '76, managed a dive shop and certified over 2,000 students in that time.  Most checkout dives were at Catalina Island.  Never did see a shark - aside from little Leopard Sharks - in all those 100s of dives.

If I'd seen something like that while in the water.....??  I dunno, would've been tough to go back in for the next dive.

Related - one of my favorite dive sites was the channel between Santa Cruz and Anacapa Islands, where we'd dive the ridges at ~100+ ft or so.  (Never with students)  Saw a few years ago where a record 800# Mako was caught right there.  Think I'd have had heart failure.