Home General Hunting

Deer and Protein

Woodsrunner had educated us a lot about how deer can be attracted to minerals in their browse and how fertilizers can be used to add those minerals. 

Does anyone know of any studies, or have any first hand experience, with deer being attracted to or preferring higher protein foods over lower protein foods?

Replies

• BodineBodine Posts: 3,020 Captain
    Not studies, but I have been running the hunting on a quality farm for over 20 years. Deer know what is the most palatable food for them at any given time. I have a fertilized oats plot adjacent to a soybean field, the deer ignore the oats until the soy beans are tilled under.
    Deer eat acorns until they are gone, then hit the food plots, and not until then. Here in N fl I dont plant until Nov, when most of the acorns are gone and the planted oats grow slower and stay tender longer due to the cool temps. My neighbors plant in Sept and their oats are over ankle high when I plant mine, deer prefer my young and tender growth.
    Not a study by a biologist, but one by experience.
    And yes, fertilized plots get more attention than those not.
    F the feds
  • Big MakBig Mak Posts: 3,389 Captain
    edited September 2019 #3
    While we are on the subject, where does cotton fit in for a deers diet? I know they will hang in it and nibble around in but on a preference scale, how does it fit?  I've hunted and killed deer in cotton fields, but I found out today the entire farm in SC was planted in cotton this year with the exception of a few fields of corn that have already been harvested and plowed under. What's my prognosis?
  • BodineBodine Posts: 3,020 Captain