Home General Fishing

Smoking fish

zimmy4209zimmy4209 Ocala FloridaPosts: 1,631 Captain
Just curious if anyone has any unique brine recipes for smoking fish they care to share  my grandfather used to have perfect recipe for it but never wrote it down I guess. By time I asked him to show me the alzheimers was so bad he couldn't remember. I have all ingredients he used I just can't ever seem to get the right portions mixed in. Never tastes like his used to. Thanks in advance to anyone who shares. 

Replies

• conchydongconchydong Pompano BeachPosts: 11,786 AG
    I have been using this brine for over 20 years. I got it out of a old BBQ cookbook.

3 quarts cool water
    2 cups firmly packed brown sugar
    1 1/2 cups salt
    3 cloves garlic
    2 teaspoons whole black peppercorns
    4 bay leaves

stir everything up until salt and sugar are dissolved and add your fish. 
    Let brine for 1 hour, rinse, pat dry and  set it on a rack to dry until pellicle forms 30-60 minutes. The surface of fish should feel tacky

May not be the one you are looking for but I hope it helps.

“Everyone behaves badly--given the chance.”
    ― Ernest Hemingway

• zimmy4209zimmy4209 Ocala FloridaPosts: 1,631 Captain
    Thank you you can never have too many recipes in your kitchen  appreciate it. 
  • XafXaf Posts: 1,132 Officer
    I don't know if this will help or not if you have multiple ingredients. 

Years ago when I first started smoking fish I was given a simple brine recipe that I still use today.  The basic ratio is:
    8 cups of water
    1 cup salt (kosher salt seems to work best for me)
    1 cup sugar (either white sugar or brown will work)
    You can use just the plain brine or you can add other seasonings to it to suit your taste.

As Conchydong said, you want to make sure the sugar and salt are completely dissolved before adding your fish.