Home Boating

Proper Boat Care After Use In Salt

james 14james 14 Posts: 3,111 Moderator
I have little to no experience with boat use in salt water. That is going to change quickly over the next few months with my recent purchase of a flats boat. I want to make sure I protect my investment with proper care and maintenance and I'd rather start by over-doing it than half-assing it and possibly having problems.

Assume I know nothing...what should I do to protect hull, motor, trailer, wiring, gear, etc?

Replies

• loganh3101loganh3101 Fernandina Beach, FLPosts: 3 Greenhorn
    The first thing I do is put on the ear muffs and put a squirt of Dawn dish soap down the water hose, hook it up and flush the engine.  After it has flushed for ten to fifteen minutes, I shut down the engine and close the gas tank vent, then I rinse down my rods and reels. Next I put some Dawn in a five gallon bucket and fill it and soap the boat and trailer down good and rinse.  Then I shoot a squirt of grease into the bearing buddies.  The I give everything a re-rinse concentrating on the live well and storage compartments.  The re-rinse the frame paying particular attention winch and strap, the wheels and springs, and the tie down ratchets.  
  • SaltygatorvetSaltygatorvet TallahasseePosts: 5,807 Admiral
    If you want to take the wax of your hull, dawn is the best soap to use. If you want to keep your wax, get a boat soap from star brite or west marine. Ask me how I know 
    You should have been here yesterday
  • MelbourneMarkMelbourneMark Posts: 3,158 Captain
    I flush the motor as soon as I get home.  I unpack while it's running. 
    (Some ramps have water, and I keep a hose in the bed of truck)

i rinse down down the boat, and use boat soap and brush if it's bloody or messy. (I also keep a small bristle brush on board and get blood/guts off when fresh) 

I spray down the trailer really well, as salt will kill all metal over time.