Home General Hunting

Student Research

swimman817swimman817 Davie, FloridaPosts: 2 Greenhorn
Hello fellow outdoorsmen, I am currently a student at Nova Southeastern University and I am currently running a study on the impact of invasive species on the south Florida ecology. I ask all of you to fill out my short survey to aid in the conservation of our land and animals. 

Here is the link to my survey,
https://forms.gle/7eFJk4ddgxDaohds7

Thank you,
Tristan Sanders

Replies

• binellishtrbinellishtr Posts: 8,797 Admiral
    I think everyone here would answer YES to all the concerns... who is also sponsoring this?
  • gladesmangladesman Posts: 1,362 Officer
    If one is looking for opinions/attitudes about invasive species - What could age or gender have to do with the answers. Maybe I am paranoid but to me age and gender open the door to biased interpretation leading to a possibly to a desired result. If I am wrong on this I apologize here and now - but my attitude  is a result of viewing more BS ideas/surveys/ideas from academia and government folks over the last 25 years than I care to remember.
  • HUNTINTHEWILDHUNTINTHEWILD Posts: 332 Deckhand
    They want to weed out those pesky data points that would elude to reality.
  • bswivbswiv Posts: 8,160 Admiral
    For what it is worth there is some research that shows the Kite adapting to the invasive snail that is pushing out the native apple snail. Of particular interest is that in that research there is data showing a increase in the length of the kite's bills. This evolutionary response to the larger prey has happened in a very fast window, faster than might have been expected.

As to the bigger question of "impact from invasive species on South Florida".......one word.....Yankees B)
  • gladesmangladesman Posts: 1,362 Officer
    bswiv said - "As to the bigger question of "impact from invasive species on South Florida".......one word.....Yankees" B