Home Off Topic

HVAC or Electrician? Ping AC

SC53SC53 Posts: 603 Officer
BIL’s grandson is going to trade school, but undecided between going electrical or AC.  Need your insight AC man and others. Polar can jump in too.
this is Deland area.

Replies

• saltyreefersaltyreefer Posts: 245 Deckhand
    I'm an a/c tech. I vote electrician lol
  • ResinheadResinhead Posts: 10,980 AG
  • AC ManAC Man Posts: 6,374 Admiral
    edited March 2019 #4
    I can't think of anything in the trades worse than the AC trade other than roofing. Polar will tell you the same thing. We both live it..

My Dad was a union  electrician and AC contractor. We did both.

This was a different era. Times have changed. I grew up working for my dad. As he said electricians bend pipe and pull wire. Unless you were a controls electrician. It is pretty simple. As the AC tech I always had to tell our electricians how to wire controls. They had no idea.They just wanted to know how many wires and what size

AC  and refrigeration takes 10 years before you have a clue what you are doing. May as well spend the time to do something that doesn't beat you to a early grave that makes more money.

Glad to here young people getting into the trades. It is all I know. Go electrical!

• MelbourneMarkMelbourneMark Posts: 2,190 Captain
    Go electrical; and learn the controls side.  

A competent control guy can make big $, and not sweat as much as other trades. (Controls guys need to know computers). 
  • stc1993stc1993 Albany, GA Carrabelle, FLPosts: 7,552 Admiral
    I went electrician & wish I'd went a/c.
    stc1993 said:
    As someone who did both, why? 
    Also; gotta consider what can be outsourced for cheap labor in the future.  Talk to electricians and sheet-metal guys; and they will say cheap low-skilled labor came in and cut the wages down. 

Gotta find something that is not easily outsourced to cheap labor is all I'm trying to say. 
    edited March 2019 #9