Help me a little with surf fishing

AarrowheadAarrowhead GreenhornPosts: 4 Greenhorn
I am new to surf fishing. But I have watched Larry Pompano videos. Been fishing south of SR520 near Cocoa Beach. Been getting a few whiting, spots, blues  less than 12”. Some days that and some days nothing. That’s my recent experience.

The question I have is about location and conditions. Things like what makes surf fishing better? High tide, receding tide, low tide? High waves, some waves, no waves? Early morning? Current from the south, north?Current from the south seems to bring me abundant sargasso. How do you pick a place to fish? There are lots of places to access. What makes one better than another? Any help you could offer would be appreciated. I am just trying to figure some things out. Thanks for the help.

Replies

• th19999th19999 Deckhand Posts: 162 Deckhand

Follow this link or just search for "reading the beach". The youtube videos are pretty long. The person teaches alot on what to look for instead of just pulling up to a random spot and blind casting. They are very informative.

Hope this helps
  • HooknCooksHooknCooks Greenhorn OrlandoPosts: 83 Greenhorn
    YouTube what he said, reading the beach.  Then go out and try it.
  • Sea-SquatchSea-Squatch Captain Posts: 1,638 Captain
    I am new to surf fishing. But I have watched Larry Pompano videos. Been fishing south of SR520 near Cocoa Beach. Been getting a few whiting, spots, blues  less than 12”. Some days that and some days nothing. That’s my recent experience.