Home West Central General Fishing & The Outdoors

Rookie, lots of questions

Hello I'm new to Florida and I have limited fishing experience - most of it in the lakes of the Midwest.

My dad is coming to visit and says he would like to go shore fishing. He has limited mobility so I'm going to try to find a place with a nice smooth dock or something.

Anyway as I said I'm new to Florida and I have no idea how to fish here. What kind of rod what kind of reel what kind of lure what kind of bait? What might I catch what can I keep what can I eat?

I'm at a complete loss and I'm wondering  if someone might be willing to take me under their wing and give me a little advice so that I can take my dad fishing and make sure that he is legal, safe, and has fun :-)

thank you!

Replies

• bigfinn35bigfinn35 Sarasota/VenicePosts: 656 Officer
    What area/city are you in? Might help narrow down what advice to give.
    Paddle faster, I hear banjo music.
  • Jack HexterJack Hexter New Port RicheyPosts: 4,869 Moderator
    Profile says Ruskin.  I'd go to the Skyway piers with a 20# spinning outfit. 
  • elkyholicelkyholic Posts: 33 Deckhand
    Ditto  skyway pier
  • CherylKCherylK RuskinPosts: 4 Greenhorn
    Yes, Ruskin. There are 2 little parks here with easy access for his scooter. 
    What type of rod and reel should I buy?
    what kind of bait?

• Eric BEric B Posts: 133 Deckhand
    There are a couple good bait/tackle shops in Ruskin. I am sure if you tell them your plan they can set you up with a good spinning reel combo that won't break the bank. If you choose to go to the Skyway piers you would be surprised at how nice folks can be on giving advice. There is also bait there as well. Good luck!
  • CherylKCherylK RuskinPosts: 4 Greenhorn
    Eric B said: