February Camping and Fishing South recommendations

Happy New Year everyone,
I am still learning the south areas from Choko and have started fishing Chatham and Huston Rivers with some success.  I fish from a 16' Action Craft with a poling platform.  In February, I am planning a camping/fishing trip near those areas with my son-in-law (3 days-2 nights).  This will be my first time camping by way of a boat.  I will be organizing what I think I should need and planning on what areas to fish, given weather conditions.  I am looking for any input re: must have's and fishing areas.

Camping:
I wasn't sure if Watson's Place is a good pick, or would the Turkey Keys would be better; either way I know I have to have first and second choices figured out before I check in.
I have a couple of regular coolers and was thinking of using dry ice (not sure if it's a good idea).
Of course a tent, lights, water, food, bug stuff, some extra fuel (my boat is pretty economical to run).
I am looking into a "slide anchor" or something that would keep my boat from grounding during tide changes.

Fishing
Would love to have live shrimp, but even with 3 batteries, not sure if the system could keep up the charge.  I also run a trolling motor.  I will have a good supply of gulp and other artificials (color suggestions are welcome).
I would like to target redfish, trout, sheepshead, and black drum.  I have had no success so far with finding larger redfish.  I was hoping for some input on exploring the bays that are up river; or, should I stay in the river and keep exploring the outside.   

I appreciate any input, Tracy.

Replies

• 10kman10kman Posts: 454 Deckhand
       Yes,regarding shrimp.Bring along fresh shrimp but also
    whole shrimp and small pieces salted down with Morton's
    coarse kosher salt.I find the salted shrimp pieces with 
    bucktail jigs will frequently out fish fresh,live shrimp and 
    stays good as long as in salt and cooled.No bucktails,