Home Northeast (3 Forums) Northeast General Fishing & The Outdoors

Depthfinder and Transducer Issue

JoeCoolJoeCool Posts: 127 Deckhand
Bought a slightly used 2015 Griffis Craft (Stumpknocker) with  a 40hp Tohatsu tiller motor. I love the boat and have installed a new Ulterra with batteries in the forward locker. It has dual side consoles and the bottom is fiberglass over 1/2 marine board. My issue is that I am on the 2nd Depthfinder and the 3rd transducer and none of them will read bottom on plane. I have about 50 years boating experience and have installed literally scores of depthfinders.  Here is the history of my current issue ...

#1 - Lowrance basic 4" with transom mount transducer. Works great at trolling speed, but soon as I get on plane it begins to freeze up and/or read depth at about 10-50x actual depth. The Lowrance was small and I am better with Huminbird menus, so I removed the Lowrance unit and Installed #2

#2 - Installed Humminbird Helix 5 and transom mount transducer - The bird had the exact same problems as the Lowrance. I placd a straight edge on the bottom of the boat at the transom. There is about a 1/4" "hook" for about the rear 6" of the bottom. I just knew I had the answer - the hook was acting like an upside down spoiler, creating turbulence and causing the transom mount ducers to go nuts. #3 was my solution.

#3 - Swapped out the Hummingbird transom mount with a puck transducer. With the core board bottom, the only area to shoot thru-hull was about a 4" square area in the starboard side well which was obviously designed for a live well drain. I installed the,puck in a 3" PVC coupling siliconed to the fiberglass bottom and filled with pink antifreeze. When I launched the boat and idled out to the channel, I was optimistic as I had the clearest screen yet. Up on plane and alas! Same issues again.

Since the boat has a flat bottom, there is a chance that the mid-ship location of the transducer could allow air underneath when on plane.