Penn International II 12T Line Recommendation

altj723altj723 GainesvillePosts: 1 Greenhorn
I've come across two Penn International II 12T's that I'll cleaning up to use for trolling for mahi, blackfin, and the lucky sail in Marathon this summer. I can't seem to find much info on these reels online. I'd like to spool them with 30 lb diamond hi catch mono and call it a day but I'm concerned they're a bit too small for line of that size. They're already paired with 20-40# class rods. Anyone have experience with these and know their capacity? They look to be very close if not slightly smaller than an TLD 20 which should hold ~450 yds of 30 lb mono. Thanks.

Replies

• Jack HexterJack Hexter New Port RicheyPosts: 4,220 Moderator
    20 or 30 Hi Catch will be fine
  • tijeretatijereta Posts: 211 Deckhand
    Those are great reels!
    I have a Penn International II 16S spooled with 20# mono.( approx. 700 yds. ) I have been using this set up for over 15 years with good success . Your 12's are just a little smaller.
  • conchydongconchydong Pompano BeachPosts: 3,811 Captain
    If your worried about capacity, back them with a few hundred yards of braid but I think you will be fine without it.You can even put 25# test mono unless you want to fish a specific line class. The 25# would probably break at 30 or above anyway.

“Everyone behaves badly--given the chance.”
    ― Ernest Hemingway

• bmoodybmoody Posts: 940 Officer
    Diamond is great line.  Don't forget it over tests.  Diamond rated at 20# tests at about 30# -- just spool up with that and go have a good time.