Making a cast net...

GermzSpreadGermzSpread Broward CountyPosts: 7 Greenhorn
I've started working on my very first cast net... I have no experience whatsoever in making or mending cast net. I bought a small book on it... I'll include a picture of it... and I bought my needle shuttles on Amazon, and my line in eBay. What really made me want to do this was the simple fact of not wanting to spend $100 on a net when I could make one for 20 or 30 bucks, also I could not find any braided cast nets. Hence why I decided to make it out of braid... little did I know that this is going to take a very long time. I'm using 28 lb. Braided rainbow line. It's five different colors and every 10 meters starts a new color. I figure if I do 3 colors a day, I'll be done in 60 days. 
If you can't explain it simply enough... then you don't know it well enough. -A.E.

Replies

• GermzSpreadGermzSpread Broward CountyPosts: 7 Greenhorn
    If you can't explain it simply enough... then you don't know it well enough. -A.E.
  • RockslamRockslam Posts: 72 Greenhorn
    Goodluck man, I don't have the skill or patience to try that. 
  • spanglerspangler daBurgPosts: 619 Officer
    edited June 4 #4
    Dude, I hope making it into net does away with the horrible spontaneous rat's nest knotting that happens with braid.  And doesn't exaggerate it.  You are either onto something amazing or disastrous. lol

There may be some benefit to the stretch of mono too, idk.

Def interesting and cool!  Looking forward to seeing it turn out.
    The stretch does have benefits... that being said the brail lines will be made out of mono line. As far as rat nests I'm not sure but I ran into some knot slippage in the beginning rows so I added a square not at the end of each mesh but found out I only had to do it with the first three rows. 

• oldmanjoeoldmanjoe Posts: 1 Greenhorn
    That net is looking good .   What is the mesh size ?   How big are you looking to make ?