Rare and endangered ARS

I have been fishing in the Keys for over 40 years and this year was the first time I have ever been run off of a spot on the Atlantic side by an overabundance of Red Snapper. We simply could not get a bait past them. I'm sure it won't be long before this rare and endangered species takes over the Keys reefs like they have in the Gulf.
25 Contender
17 Carolina Skiff

Replies

• swampapeswampape Posts: 11 Greenhorn
    I have been fishing in the Keys for over 40 years and this year was the first time I have ever been run off of a spot on the Atlantic side by an overabundance of Red Snapper. We simply could not get a bait past them. I'm sure it won't be long before this rare and endangered species takes over the Keys reefs like they have in the Gulf.
    25 Contender
    17 Carolina Skiff
  • xeniaxenia Posts: 428 Deckhand
    I've been fishing the keys for almost 40 years as well but never caught a one down there.  Maybe I've been fishing too shallow, or just not the right spots.  I used to longline muttons out to 275' of water and caught plenty of mutton, but never a red.  Haven't caught any in my recent trips to north key largo, so this influx of reds must be restricted to the lower keys I guess.  You occasionally here of a couple of Miami, but not the huge numbers you find in the Gulf.
    I wouldn't have been surprised if I found them in the Marquesas or someplace off the beaten path but this huge school was right at the edge of the reef in front of KCB! Don't get me wrong...on the one hand I'm glad to see them making a comeback down there. On the other, if they come back in the numbers that we saw it will be tough sledding for anyone trying to bottom fish on the edge of the reef unless they loosen the regs a little. I'd hate to see bottom fishing down there turn into what it is in the Gulf...a mad scramble to keep bottom fish for a few days out of the year. The rest of the year you can't get a bait past them. 
    25 Contender