Home South General Fishing & The Outdoors

boat loans for fishing guides

I am looking for a lender who will do boat loans for guys who will be guiding from their boat. I don't need guys who can do recreational loans. I do that myself for a living. Looking specifically for a lender to work with fishing guides. Anyone got any useful suggestions? Thanks!
Catch 'em up!

Nick

Replies

• Lucky7Team2Lucky7Team2 Posts: 6,794 Officer
    Out of curiosity what diff does it make if ur a guide or not?
  • nbseafrognbseafrog Posts: 521 Officer
    Good question. Lenders who do recreational boat loans only don't do commercial guys because the boat is used so much more. The perception (right or wrong) is that the boat will depreciate much more rapidly if the boat is used for guiding. Can't really sneak and guide with the boat because the bank gets a copy of the insurance binder which would show if the boat had commercial coverage. It would be pretty risky to not have the right insurance coverage and have a charter get hurt on your boat.
    Catch 'em up!

Nick
  • Lucky7Team2Lucky7Team2 Posts: 6,794 Officer
    nbseafrog wrote: »
    Good question. Lenders who do recreational boat loans only don't do commercial guys because the boat is used so much more. The perception (right or wrong) is that the boat will depreciate much more rapidly if the boat is used for guiding. Can't really sneak and guide with the boat because the bank gets a copy of the insurance binder which would show if the boat had commercial coverage. It would be pretty risky to not have the right insurance coverage and have a charter get hurt on your boat.

Thanks...Good luck...
  • lemaymiamilemaymiami Posts: 3,843 Captain