Snake ID

ShineShine Posts: 804 Officer
Saw this snake in Jasper County SC. Looks black, but think it may be an Indigo. I think this is the place to find out.

Replies

• conchydongconchydong Pompano BeachPosts: 4,388 Captain
    Looks a little skinny for a Indigo but who knows, I am not an expert. Indigos have a reddish color chin and Black racers have a whitish chin. Can't tell from the picture.

“Everyone behaves badly--given the chance.”
    ― Ernest Hemingway

• flydownflydown Posts: 6,464 Admiral
    Looks like an indigo to me
    DYING for me was the most HE could do. LIVING for HIM is the least I can do
  • CountryBumpkinCountryBumpkin Fla. Piney WoodsPosts: 1,385 Officer
    Looks like a dark color variant of a coachwhip snake to me.....but of course I can't be 100% sure.

Because I didn't stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night.

I say......I say son.......new & improved my tail feathers.

This is the reported range of the eastern indigo snake

• FlashFlash Posts: 11,137 AG
    Don't kill those black snakes
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Never seem more learned than the people you are with. Wear your learning like a pocket watch and keep it hidden. Do not pull it out to count the hours, but give the time when you are asked. --- Lord Chesterfield
    Judging from the head down posture of the one pictured.......he might be a little too late for saving.:grin

• Turner River TerrorTurner River Terror Posts: 6,336 Admiral
    Walked up on a big Black Racer last week. He was tussling around in tall grass and as soon as he saw me he ran to me and flaired up way off the ground. I kept walking and he took off, went over to where he was and saw a 1 1/2 foot Copperhead all pissed off.
    He was gonna eat that Rattlesnake till I came along....
    Killin and Grillin :grin
  • Lobstercatcher229Lobstercatcher229 Posts: 4,844 Captain