Home General Fishing

A little help here

jhedgjhedg Posts: 103 Deckhand
So I am kind of new to this inshore fishing thing. As I was cruising around in the boat the other day just to get a feel of the area I found a deep hole in the middle of a grass flat where it drops to 12ft. All around the drop off it is 3-5ft. what should I look for in this area. How should I fish it during incoming, and out going tides. what type of fish should I focus on? should I vertical fish the spot? this saltwater thing is new to me. Thanks for your help!!

Replies

• tailwaterstailwaters Posts: 122 Deckhand
    Most holes are best fished on a low tide. Post up far enough away the you can cast to it without spooking any fish that might be in it.
  • FlfjackFlfjack Posts: 646 Officer
    Where are you located?
    East Boynton
    IG jack.bbi
  • jhedgjhedg Posts: 103 Deckhand
  • jhedgjhedg Posts: 103 Deckhand
    tailwaters wrote: »
    Most holes are best fished on a low tide. Post up far enough away the you can cast to it without spooking any fish that might be in it.

should I fish the deepest part? the edges? bottom fish with live bait, I would just dropshot it if were a freshwater hole
  • Tim FredTim Fred Posts: 109 Deckhand
    Flounder may be laying around the edges and the middle, too.
    When fishing for trout in the grass, I always try to test the holes for a flattie whenever the drift takes us over one.
  • mikenavmikenav Posts: 858 Officer