Home Keys General Fishing & The Outdoors

bullynetting rules and regulations lower keys

Hey guys, I am not looking for spots or anything else. I am just looking to get a link to detailed regulations on bullynetting. I am a full time resident near mm10 not a tourist, I recently bought a skiff and made my initial attempts to set it up for bullynetting. I just want to have fun with family and play by the rules. Legal start/stop time, distance from people's homes or docks, can you do it in canal's etc.. any recommendations on techniques is appreciated but not the intention of the post.

Thanks!

Replies

• latitudeajustmentlatitudeajustment Posts: 2,052 Captain
    The myfwc.com site has the information, I personally have never done it but you should be able to find it for Monroe County. As I recall no bully netting in canals and you need to be 300 feet from residential homes, good luck.
  • keylargo359keylargo359 Posts: 1,249 Officer
    opens at midnight tonight closes at midnight Thursday if posible i'm not familiar with the flats down there but i like to work the edges of flats that are next to deeper channels. also lobster walk up into shallow water on the incoming tide and walk off when the tide stars heading back out.
    The worst day of fishing is still better than the best day of work:\
  • AMPEDAMPED Posts: 619 Officer
    Ask the 78 year old that got arrested this morning and then do the exact opposite.
    2016 39 Sea Vee
    2008 37 Ocean Billfish
    2005 30 Grady-White Marlin
    1993 27 Ultress Catamaran
    1985 Grady-White Trophy
  • latitudeajustmentlatitudeajustment Posts: 2,052 Captain
    AMPED wrote: »
    Ask the 78 year old that got arrested this morning and then do the exact opposite.

Was that guy bullynetting?
  • AMPEDAMPED Posts: 619 Officer
    Yes, he had 33 lobsters for one person, one of which was short, all with bullynets.
    2016 39 Sea Vee
    2008 37 Ocean Billfish
    2005 30 Grady-White Marlin
    1993 27 Ultress Catamaran