Skip to main content
Home Keys General Fishing & The Outdoors

How long will sailfishing be decent around KW

This is my first year in Key West and due to my schedule and the winds I haven't had a chance to give sailfishing an honest shot. I will be around for the next few weeks and weather pending I would like to try to land one. Any advice on how long they are typically around for as well as depths/best bait would be appreciated

Replies

• Jack HexterJack Hexter New Port RicheyPosts: 5,494 Moderator
    You are approaching the end of the season, but they should be around for a while. Best bait and tactics in KW are live ballyhoo, bump trolled in about 130' but anywhere from 90 to 250 will work. By bump trolling, I mean just put the boat in gear to keep the baits behind the boat, do not drag them, once behind the boat, put it in neutral until they swim up even with the boat or start to cross the lines, then into gear again to keep the lines straight and behind the boat. Put the reels in freespool with just enough tension to keep the line from running out ( I use spinners and use a ballyhoo wire as a release to hold the line) Keep an ear to the radio to find the depth they are in on the day you are out.
  • rivamunstasteverivamunstasteve Posts: 694 Officer
    Most I saw last year was the third week in May. Jumping everywhere past the reef. I wouldn't put money on that being the best time to get them, but that should give you reason to target them and expect (hope) success.
  • UK AnglerUK Angler Posts: 298 Deckhand
    Do they disappear completely, or just thin out and leave a few residents? If they do disappear, what time of year do they come back back?
  • bonebone Posts: 1,167 Officer
    I've caught them off marathon in June every year drifting with live bait in 140-220.