Home Fly Fishing

Bonefish: Bahamas or Mexico

ComandanteComandante Posts: 290 Deckhand
Looking for your opinions. I'm just beginning the planning for a 2017 Bonefish fly fishing trip. Probably want to fish at least seven days while gone. Timing not an issue and will be dependent on recommended fish availability and average fishable wind conditions . Local guide (s) and lodging preferred. Party of three.
Thanks in advance!

Capt. Gabe Kovacs 1600 ton Master
Offshore Supply Vessels

Replies

• LighthouseKipLighthouseKip Posts: 21 Deckhand
    Both are excellent destinations, and pretty fishy year-round. You should consider Belize also. El Pescador is a world-class lodge. Check out www.yellowdogflyfishing.com.
  • FlatsFrenzyFlatsFrenzy Posts: 893 Officer
    Oahu...seriously...look up Captain Jesse Cheape with Hi Tide Fly Fishing.

http://hitideflyfishing.com/

I spent a day with Jesse back in late July...landed 5 bones, broke 2 more off, and missed hook sets on a few more. Probably 20-30 shots at bones up to 8-10#. He walked the flats with me carrying a 12wt rigged for GTs...because there is always a chance...

If you haven't looked at Oahu as a bonefish destination, you're missing out IMHO.

backrgound_02_topdown.jpg
    -
    Chris
    Gulf Coast of FL
    @flatsfrenzy #flyonly #onelessspinrod
  • sunflowersunflower osprey, floridaPosts: 648 Officer
    The Bahamas are certainly the definitive bonefish destination. I think Mexico in general offers more of a mixed bag, with the potential for smaller tarpon, permit, and snook. I have not fished Mexico but I have fished a number of locations in the Bahamas, as well as the Seychelles, the Keys, and Christmas Island.