Skip to main content
Home Boating

tow ball hitch follow up rec...

CharcoalToddCharcoalTodd Posts: 94 Deckhand
Will be trailering a 22ft 6 inch bay boat from a chevy silverado 1500. What is the best tow ball hitch recommendation? Is reese a good product? Need to purchase one within the next week. boat to be towed will be posted....

Replies

• bmoodybmoody Posts: 1,012 Officer
    Worry about class rating, not brand. Focus on bolted to the frame rather than bumper. I doubt the ball makes much difference (other than being the correct diameter), think more about the ball mount and the receiver. Strive to have that dual axle trailer level when traveling; there are ball mounts that have drop or lift to help with that.
  • CharcoalToddCharcoalTodd Posts: 94 Deckhand
    i have the standard factory installed tow hitch to a 2013 chevy silverado 1500. I have no experience with this and need guidance.
  • CharcoalToddCharcoalTodd Posts: 94 Deckhand
    boat weight is 2050lbs without trailer
  • surfmansurfman WC FLPosts: 6,022 Admiral
    That hitch is probably not factory, not sure there is a factory hitch but, I am sure it is fine for what you want to haul. set up the hitch so that the boat trailers level. the receiver is usually a 2" square box tube. they are available at any place that sells hardware. If there is a trailer store near you take it to them and ask them to look at it and see what kind of advice they can offer. All you should need is a receiver and a ball, you may also what a lock.

Do not mount the ball to the bumper of the truck. Post a picture of the hitch if you can.
    Tight Lines, Steve
    My posts are my opinion only.

Be thankful we're not getting all the government we're paying for.  Will Rogers
  • In Too DeepIn Too Deep Posts: 124 Deckhand