Charter Fishing Trip...........................What Kind?????

DfreedomDfreedom Posts: 98 Greenhorn
My family and I are coming down to the Keys in late June to drop my youngest son off at Scout Sea Base Camp on Summerland Key. We're staying on Conch key that week and for the first time, are not bringing our boat but are bringing 3 kayaks. My oldest son's birthday is around that time and I am thinking of setting up a charter trip for the 2 of us sometime that week. We have done a lot of fishing off the reefs (yellowtail, triggers, etc.) but have not done any "inshore" back country, flats, or gulf side fishing. I have never done a guided trip before so not sure what kind of fishing I want to do. Probably can't afford offshore trolling so, I was thinking something in shallow. Tarpon, bones and permit sound a little "technical". I wouldn't mind taking a couple of fresh fish home to the wife but not looking to fill a cooler. I really just want to put my son on some fish and create a great memory.

Any insight or input regarding options in that area would be much appreciated.

Replies

• Jack HexterJack Hexter New Port RicheyPosts: 4,193 Moderator
    I'd book a charter out of Islamorada, run into the park and for redfish trout snook and mangrove snapper
  • kmagnusskmagnuss Posts: 2,691 Captain
    Tarpon... everything else is just bait.
    2017 Tarpon Count: 109/431
    Captain Keith Magnussen - Crooked Rod Charters
    Instagram is @crooked_rod_charters
  • Turner River TerrorTurner River Terror Posts: 5,378 Admiral
    Tarpon.....Overgrown Sardines that people spend way too much money tryin to catch.....
    Killin and Grillin :grin
  • Jack HexterJack Hexter New Port RicheyPosts: 4,193 Moderator
    kmagnuss wrote: »

Apparently you didn't read the OP's post where he stated he did not want tarpon and wanted to take some fillet's home
    It doesn't matter what the OP wants. Tarpon is all that matters. So there. :banana