Help selecting a Fishfinder/Chartplotter

jcampbell577jcampbell577 Posts: 181 Deckhand
Looking to purchase a fishfinder/chartplotter for my 16 foot Hewes. I live in Jacksonville FL and will be fishing inshore 99% of the time so shallow water creeks as well as the deeper areas of the St.Johns river and inlet / jetties. Once and a while I might go offshore on a calm day and fish the beaches but I wont be heading out very deep in a boat like mine.

All that being said, what you do guys recommend. I really do not want to spend over $500 and would feel much more comfortable the closer I get to $300. I am a total newbie when it comes to fishfinders but I've been looking at the Garmin and Lowrance models. Lowrance also has rebates on all of their models at the moment. They have some with the smaller screens for around $300 but I don't know if that is too small.

Also, maybe a dumb question but how detailed are the maps on these things and are they really necessary for mainly inshore fishing?

Any and all help is appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Replies

• Egrets LandingEgrets Landing Posts: 935 Officer
    If you get a Garmin, you will be stuck with one map and one map only so if you don't like it, you have no other options. At least with the other mfgs, you can load different maps. Get the Lowrance. The Garmin has no advantages at all in any area of comparison when compared to a Lowrance or Humminbird.
  • StratosStratos Posts: 149 Officer
    For that price range, I personally think the Humminbird Helix is the best option. For $500 you can get a unit with 2 sonar, down imaging, side imaging and GPS. Down sides to the unit are the size of the display screen and you can't network it. But all in all it's a nice little unit.
  • Mr.SnookMr.Snook NaplesPosts: 83 Greenhorn