Home Sportsman's Kitchen

Venison Parmesan

This is my recipe from Naples, Italy. I was a cook before I was a true hunter

Venison Cutlets

1-3 lbs of Venison, Preferably, Hind quarter top round meat.
4 eggs
4 cups bread crumbs (plain or Italian seasoned)
1/4 cup of milk
TBL spoon of salt
TBL spoon of black pepper

Homemade Real Italian red sauce

2 cans 20oz Tomato Sauce
1/2 Onion
1/4 cup of olive oil (EVOO)
tbl spoon of oregano
tbl spoon of Basil
tbl spoon salt
tbl spoon parsley
tbl spoon pepper
2 lbs Whole milk Shredded Mozzarella Cheese

Cutlets

Cut meat into thin slices and use a meat hammer and place plastic bag on top of meat, use smooth side of meat hammer and hit meat until really thin. Beat eggs in a bowl, pour bread crumbs in a separate bowl or container. Dip meat in egg, then put meat in bread crumbs one at a time and cover well you can push down on meat to coat really well. Heat peanut oil or Veggie oil to 350 degrees. and fry until golden brown.

Sauce

Pout Olive oil in sauce pan and dice onion and put it in the sauce pan, saute onions until soft (about 3-5 min), once soft put both cans of sauce in pan and then add spice and stir occasionally. Let sauce cook for about and hour you can also put a table spoon of sugar to sweeten it up.

Put meat cutlets on a baking pan pour sauce on individual pieces and put some mozzarella cheese on each bake for about 6-10 min until cheese is melted. Put on plate and serve.

Replies

• jakedgejakedge Posts: 1,303 Officer
    I'm not a deer hunter but do chicken and fish parms. Yours looks good but I would add a good shot of grated Parmesan to the bread crumbs. Gives it an extra cheesiness after the frying! Thanks for posting.
  • ruskinredneckruskinredneck Posts: 1,121 Officer
    From a post from about last month...
    (and made it 2 nights ago with venison from last year)

Steak Parmesan
    (adapted from from Southern Living)

1/2 cup fine, dry seasoned breadcrumbs