Home General Fishing

Most Reliable Forecast Source

remel1993remel1993 Posts: 536 Officer
Hey guys, we all know there are numerous sources for marine forecast and many of them are far from accurate.
Wanted to know what the pros use? :huhWhat websites do you guys use before heading offshore?
I found swellinfo.com to be fairly accurate.

Thanks
If I dont answer my phone call, either Im fishing or riding my motorcycle. -Salty Bike Life

Replies

• Yeaaa_ChrisYeaaa_Chris Posts: 562 Officer
    I am far from a pro, but I use a combination of things. NOAA, weather channel app, my radar app, wind finder app, and just paying attention to the weather pattern from the previous days before a trip. My radar is my favorite app, but it doesnt work if you get too far out.
  • Reel TealReel Teal Posts: 3,962 Captain
    Noaa, windfinder. Then personal experience to know what to expect from the given data. All forecast are just educated guesses. Sometimes spot on, close enough, or completely off the wall. Weather is unpredictable. If you combine different forecasts you can get a better idea like said above
  • SouthshoreSlayerSouthshoreSlayer Posts: 408 Deckhand
    Windfinder and Sailflow

I use NOAA to see what the weather is NOT going to do.
  • waldnerrwaldnerr Posts: 1,030 Officer
    The best offshore site I've found is Buoyweather.com. However, you can only get two days' forecast at a time without paying an annual fee and becoming a "premium" member.
  • BarryNichollsBarryNicholls Posts: 27 Greenhorn
    NOAA has several, and they're pretty good. I also use Weatherbug.
    Practice doesn't make perfect. Perfect practice makes perfect. - BN
    The most important requirement for a good is fishing trip is to come back! - BN
    The worst things that happen to us give us the best stories - that's adventure! - BN
  • drgibbydrgibby Posts: 1,564 Captain
    NOAA`s graphical forecast has proven to be very accurate recently. It gives multiple predictions in a regional format.