General State of Florida's Fishery

gettinwetgettinwet Posts: 1,366 Officer
I was reading another thread about the "closure" of commercial dolphin season and must admit as a Florida resident I feel really ashamed that I didn't know much about how any of the commercial management of fisheries works........really only paying attention the recreational regs/legislation.........but I have a feeling those in the know probably don't want too much light shed on the issue anyway. If you care about Florida's environment and fisheries I would suggest please getting informed and letting your local, state, and fed representatives know how you feel.

Question though, is this why you can hardly find a fish market or restaurant in Florida selling fresh Florida seafood anymore? Only farm raised catfish, tilapia, salmon, frozen mahi/yellowfin........plus very short grouper (judging by the thin filets).........and whatever that chinese catfish with the funny name is. And the ones that still do on occassion, simply cost too much for an average joe and family. I remember the days when you could easily get fresh swordfish, wahoo, king, grouper, snapper, mahi, trout plus crustaceans of several varieties on just about every decent seafood restaurant's menu depending on the season (and there were plenty of mom & pop places around - especially on the coasts). I've read tilapia and farm raised salmon are actually bad for you. I went into whole foods market the other day - they wanted $29.50 a pound for wild Alaskan Salmon.....though I do find hybrid Rainbow trout farm raised in North Carolina at BJs that are quite reasonable (and tasty grilled or pan seared). I remember there used to be a huge offshore shrimping business out of the Cape. And my grandfather used to harvest oysters in the Merritt Island area.

What happened? Are the fish simply gone.........more valuable sold elsewhere.........combo of the two?
There are only so many casts in life, so shut up and fish!!

Replies