Conventional reel servicing, level of difficulty?

I've got a Daiwa Saltist lever drag that I have been using for about 2 years now, and its never been serviced. I do the usual freshwater rinse-down after each outing (plus a little wd-40 on a rag to wipe off surface) and its never been submerged in saltwater. Its still performing well but I do not want to wait until it has failed before I give it a proper maintenance.

I've serviced my spinning reels before (Shimano Stradic ci4 & Penn SSV), but how much harder is a conventional reel like this?
The multitude of small parts in the technical diagram is intimidating:
http://www.daiwa.com/Documents/PartsDiagram/STTLD35H-LD35HSH.pdf

Should I attempt this myself, or sent it out?
Or
Since "it ain't broke, don't fix it"?
Hobie Kayak angler for life!

Replies

• XafXaf Posts: 992 Officer
    If you are mechanically inclined, I would do it myself. Usually they are not that hard to service and you know that it has been done right. Go to alantani.com , it has tutorials for servicing most reels plus a forum where a lot of questions can be answered. In the long run it is cheaper and your reel is not likely to fail at just the wrong time.
  • jcanracerjcanracer Posts: 4,271 Moderator
    Xaf wrote: »
    If you are mechanically inclined, I would do it myself. Usually they are not that hard to service and you know that it has been done right. Go to alantani.com , it has tutorials for servicing most reels plus a forum where a lot of questions can be answered. In the long run it is cheaper and your reel is not likely to fail at just the wrong time.

good suggestion!
    I found a video tutorial there: http://alantani.com/index.php?topic=1701.0
  • johnDjohnD WC FLPosts: 6,389 Admiral
    If you thought a spinner was tough ,I'd leave it alone..best to drop it off somewhere and have them do it. most shops around here charge $25 or $30 for a conventional, clean and re-lube.