Skyway etiquette

I'm new to the skyway bridge fishing for tarpon,can anyone elaborate on the rules of the road? I would like to be as courteous as can be as I wish the others to do the same for me. I am fishing from a bay boat equipped with a two stroke and a 101 lb thrust trolling motor.

Replies

• Lobstercatcher229Lobstercatcher229 Posts: 4,843 Captain
    I had a rough running engine in Boca Grande during the Tarpon run and got told: "never turn your engine off in the Channel". I am thinking that the Skyway Bridge won't be the zoo that Boca Grande is. It is nice to not cut off people's fish with your engine! And stay out of the way as much as possible.
  • TarponatorTarponator Under a BridgePosts: 10,781 AG
    There are two ways to fish the bridge.

One is anchoring up. The other is using the tide to flow you through the bridge.

Both work, but I believe the latter (i.e. drifting) is both more courteous and also more productive.

Turn your engine off when you're doing it, and use your electric to correct your course (i.e. if the tide is going to pull you into one of the pilings, use your trolling motor to get you clear).

When you're done with a drift, circle around the area you (and others) are fishing, and do another drift. Typically, I start my drifts a few hundred yards from the bridge and end them about the same distance.

Just stay well away from anyone when you have your engine running and you'll do fine -- the fish at the Skyway react very differently than the fish in the channel on the outside of BGP pass. What you can do in Boca you can't do at the Skyway -- the water is much shallower here and the fish react much more negatively to boats running them over with an engine. Try and idle (or fast idle) around rather than running on plane -- you'll see more doing that, and knowing where the fish are (rather than guessing) is extremely helpful in positioning for a drift.