Skip to main content
Home Sportsman's Kitchen

Lobster tails (cocktail style)

I want to fix some lobster tails for a get together. I would like to boil them, chill, cut into small cubes and serve with cocktail sauce. I am going to do about 15 tails with each tail about 1/3 to 1/2 pounds. Any suggestions on how to boil them (all together or a few at a time....how long....shell on or off)? Are there any recipes for cocktail sauce other than just ketchup and horseradish sauce?

Any suggestions are appreciated.

LR

Replies

• rbricklerbrickle Posts: 239 Officer
    I'm not an expert on lobster tails, but I sure would love to come to your party. Post a few pics.
  • jakedgejakedge Posts: 1,303 Officer
    Add a little lemon juice and Worcestershire as well. A little hot sauce if you like also.
  • captainjtsmithcaptainjtsmith Posts: 56 Deckhand
    I cook them two different ways.... 1st way.... put 1 pack of Zattarans Crab boil in the water along with 1/4 cup of hot sauce, 2 cut up Vidalia Onions, and 3 lemons cut in half..... 2nd way... 1 cup of red wine vinegar, lemon juice, and two whole cloves of garlic

For 10-12 oz, boil 10-12min and for 14-16oz, boil for 15-20min. Set in colander to cool

and for traditional Cocktail Sauce..

Ketchup 4 oz
    Horseradish 1 Tbsp
    Lemon Juice 1 Tbsp
    Hot Sauce to Taste
    Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce a few Dashes to taste

good luck...
  • Lobstercatcher229Lobstercatcher229 Posts: 4,845 Captain
    I like "hot" so I put in some Tabasco or other hot sauce along with the ketchup and horseradish like my Dad did. I also like to cook all 15 at a time, bring them to a boil either from cold with the tails in there or put them all in boiling water. I boil them till the shells turn orange or red, mabye 5 to 10 minutes at a full boil.
  • slayrideslayride Posts: 59 Deckhand
    i thought you would never ask.............