Gulf Tides Question

Heading to the panhandle for the first time ever - will be at Destin week of 4/4 and getting really excited the closer we are to leaving! I've stayed in the vero beach area several springs and have had some success from my kayak in the Indian River, along with good action in the surf and some memorable trips to Sebastian's Inlet, but the fishery around Destin sounds tough to beat! (And it sure looks like we picked a good time to come!). Thanks to everyone who posts on this board -- lots of great info here to help direct my efforts!!

My question may seem strange, but I'm completely new to the idea of a single tide change per day like you guys see in the gulf. We generally stay on the east coast (including trips to the outer banks and, in particular, Ocracoke every fall) and Vero, as I noted above. But being new to the gulf, I'm curious: does the bite fall off for a LONGER stretch around slack tide because the tide cycle is so long? I usually take my cue from the fish, but as I'm planning the week I'm just wondering how wide a berth to give to the tide change? Do you plan a dead zone a whole hour on either side? More? Or is there less impact in the gulf altogether?

Thanks for any insight! Can't wait to be there...just three weeks to go!!

Replies

• SwampratSwamprat Posts: 1,058 Officer
    Not the expert by far but yeah the dead time is usually longer since there is a big time difference between high/low.

However I fish when I can and usually can find inshore fish. You might have to switch from fishing a flat or tidal creek to a channel, pass or bridge but fish will still be there.

I think due to our weird tides fish will feed every 3 hours or so. Sometimes it might just be for a short period but think they feed shorter but in more frequency here.
    Jackson Cuda 12