Looking for some Guidance

Hey guys, I am new to the kayak game. I am from upstate New York and have fished the great lakes out of a 10ft sit in yak for the past couple years. I spend about half the year down in Florida and am tired of limiting myself to shore fishing. I am looking to get a kayak I can use both inshore and offshore. Some models I have come across that I have considered are the Ocean Kayak Trident 13, 13' Ocean Kayak Prowler, and a couple of the Native series in the same sizes. I am looking to spend about $750 at most. I have been looking for used kayaks on a number of platforms for a few weeks now and I am just looking for some input before I make a decision. Thanks for taking a look guys, tight lines.

Replies

• palmbeachpetepalmbeachpete Posts: 2,620 Captain
    All of the kayaks that you are looking at will do the job. If you can water test them before you buy.
  • 1simplemann1simplemann Posts: 200 Deckhand
    Don't forget to look in the classifieds, Craiglist etc. Sometimes I see some pretty good deals on used kayaks when people upgrade. that way you can get more yak for your buck.
  • troutman97troutman97 Posts: 81 Deckhand
    Yes craigslist is where i have been looking.
  • r00kieAnglerr00kieAngler Posts: 258 Deckhand
    http://miami.craigslist.org/pbc/boa/4890402929.html

Ok prowler gets my vote for an all around kayak. Light weight and great for surf launching.
  • WhelanWhelan Posts: 193 Deckhand
    If your going offshore, a rudder is a must.
    2014 Ocean Kayak Trident 4.7 Urban Camo
  • lucluc Posts: 245 Officer
    Whelan wrote: »

Really? Can you elaborate?
    luc wrote: »
    Really? Can you elaborate?
    NO - Not interested in getting in a debate with you over a rudder or whether your Tarpon 120 is or is not a piece of ****.
  • PottymouthPottymouth Posts: 1,547 Officer
    Unless u like to paddle only one side of ur kayak. Rudder keeps you straight. Without one u are constantly compensating.