Home General Fishing

How does the weather affect your fishing?

Let me start by saying I'm new to saltwater fishing. In my research I've read about high pressure systems and low pressure systems and how they affect the fish but to honest it's a bit over my head. Can someone please explain to me like I'm 5 how these pressure systems affect the fish? Are the pressure systems the same as rain and thunder storms? When is your favorite time to fish? What's your LEAST favorite time to fish? And lastly, is this weekend a good weekend to fish?

Sorry for all the questions. Just hope it sparks some conversation. Thanks!

Replies

• Jim311Jim311 Posts: 4,961 Captain
    During the summer I just fish whenever with little emphasis on the weather other than to dodge storms and come back in one piece. But in the winter the cold snaps will absolutely shut down fishing. Typically the pattern is that rain will roll in and then right after that a cold front will blow in. I like to fish the day before or day of the rain. The fish seem to bite pretty well. If I've got to fish after a cold snap, I don't care to do it on the day of or after the cold snap as the fish are just shut down. Basically I try to just look for steady consistent weather. This weekend should be good to fish but I have a feeling Sunday will be better than Saturday. It's all just an educated guess and it can all go out the window due to other factors like a full moon, wind, etc, but if you start writing down these patterns and information you'll see a trend.
  • bonephishbonephish Posts: 1,488 Officer
    I don't fish when it's windy and the seas are over 2'. All other times are good. And I very rarely get skunked.:banana
  • Guitarshredder1Guitarshredder1 Posts: 354 Officer
    bonephish wrote: »
    I don't fish when it's windy and the seas are over 2'. All other times are good. And I very rarely get skunked.:banana

Lol.