Home General Fishing

VHF handheld radio w/ GPS

1simplemann1simplemann Posts: 200 Deckhand
I asked this on the paddle craft forum. I probably should have asked it here. The wife asked me what I wanted for X-mas. Several ideas came to mind. Fish finder for my yak?. Possibly a Go Pro camera ? and then I thought about it some more. A good quality hand held marine radio would be nice safety item to have. Lorrance, Standard Horizon come to mind. I have little experience w/ either. Any suggestions w/ these brands or any others?

Replies

• BobberBobber Posts: 943 Officer
    Handheld VHF transmitting from 3' above water level will have a very limited range, what distance are the potential receivers to your usual fishing grounds? What is the height of their reception towers? Nothing worse than a false sense of security when actually no one can hear you.
  • Split ShotSplit Shot Posts: 6,190 Admiral
    I grew up never hearing anyone in the back country. ZIP for electronics.

We were lucky to have a Q beam with a battery that worked.

Used to see a lot of scared people. Now mostly just stupid. :grin
  • JIMinPBJIMinPB Posts: 1,875 Captain
    If you get a GPS/DSC/Handheld:

1) get one that floats
    2) try to find one that doesn't cut out the radio reception every few seconds when it reads GPS data. My Uniden has this problem unless I shut down the GPS/DSC function. Its irritating.
    3) Get one that is 6Watt. When you are low to the water & have a small antenna, you want all the help you can get if you do need to make an emergency transmission.
    4) when you register the MMSI number for the DSC function, register it with Boat US, not the FCC. A boat US number can be edited if you change boats & want to keep the radio. An FCC number is registered to one boat & one boat only. You only need a FCC number if you go international with the radio.