Skip to main content
Home Northwest General Fishing & The Outdoors

Ga Tech's goal line fumble

I must have been looking at the wrong player because no one has mentioned it. In the view from behind the backfield, i saw somebody's knees hit the ground. I thought it was the ball carrier. Did anyone else see the same? Or was I just focused on the wrong player?

Replies

• haydenfox!#$haydenfox!#$ Posts: 2,454 Captain
    I'm a Georgia fan, but, simple answer is that if he had been called down in any way (forward progress, etc) that call would have stood also. Maybe his knee was down, maybe he crossed the goalline, maybe it was a good call. There was no way to put all those pieces together from any of those camera angles. GT folks should just accept the gift and enjoy it for 364 days, give or take...

I will also say that I root for GT vs. anybody but UGA. I'm a Paul Johnson disciple and love triple option football as a coach myself. I hope GT beats the brakes off FSU but I doubt belly and veer will be enough vs. the Noles...
  • tapatetapate Posts: 5,263 Admiral
    Weirdest no call I've ever seen. Can't figure out what was going on. I thought in the original full speed play he was in, negating a fumble call.
  • tapatetapate Posts: 5,263 Admiral
    ferris1248 wrote: »
    I thought there were several calls that were questionable. That was one.

I thought he was in but at the very least, forward progress was stopped.

As for GT folk taking "the gift"? BS!. Our guys never gave up and played till the final whistle. We could have easily slacked off after the fumble by Thomas. We didn't. We played hard and won the game. Gift my butt.

Agreed, UGA had it run down their throats in the 2nd half...HARD
  • haydenfox!#$haydenfox!#$ Posts: 2,454 Captain
    ferris1248 wrote: »
    I thought there were several calls that were questionable. That was one.

I thought he was in but at the very least, forward progress was stopped.