Sink Tip or Full Sinking Line?

2»

Replies

• Sage ManSage Man Posts: 195 Officer
    That's a wonderful fish.

I'm still learning so please forgive me. If that fish was at 35', did it literally take you 20 seconds to get that deep?

Aren't they rated by ips (inches per second). Did you use a heavily weighted fly?

Just axing...I've got a lot to learn.

Thanks for your response.
  • Ol'DirtyCasterOl'DirtyCaster Posts: 2,325 Captain
    No worries. It was probably closer to 30 seconds, but the water was clear and the fish were aggressive. I was using a #6 clouser, on an SL11-3h, medium lead eyes.
    No matter how you slice it, that's a wonderful fish. Worth counting to 30 seconds...that's for sure.

I'm still trying to get my mind around intermediate, sink tip, full sinking etc. :huh
  • Ol'DirtyCasterOl'DirtyCaster Posts: 2,325 Captain
    Sage Man wrote: »
    No matter how you slice it, that's a wonderful fish. Worth counting to 30 seconds...that's for sure.

I'm still trying to get my mind around intermediate, sink tip, full sinking etc. :huh

Rio makes versi-tips, and Airflo has polyleaders, pretty handy of if you want to dabble with density compensated lines before jumping in with both feet. I'm primarily a beach and jetty guy, and my gear reflects that. You're going to have to do some experimenting of your own, but I promise you'll have a good time doing it. Keep us posted, and good luck!
  • Permit RatPermit Rat Posts: 2,283 Captain
    Sage Man wrote: »