Spanish in North Key Largo

I have always done my Spanish Mackerel fishing north of marathon in the open waters of Florida bay. I just moved the boat to Jewfish creek in Key Largo. Anyone have any pointers as to Where can I catch S macks in that area? Card Sound, Blackwater sound?
Any info helps as I like fishing for them in the coming months.

Replies

• Ilive2fishIlive2fish Posts: 270 Deckhand
    I am a part time resident/weekender and I have yet to have any success in the areas you mentioned....seems like you have to go deep into the bay near Flamingo for any success....and that would be in a shallow draft boat and to do back country type fishing...I may be wrong but I don't think that area is fishy at all...I want to give that type of fishing for macks and mangroves a try but I will be trailering the boat down south...we have excellent success in the patch reefs and deeper reefs and you do get the occasional cero mack...big ones too...while chumming and yellowtailing...we stick to reef fishing and when the wind kicks up we just stay home....
  • keylargo359keylargo359 Posts: 1,249 Officer
    It's about a 30 mile run to Florida bay where they are plentiful during the winter season. I have found them just north of the Card sound bridge after the pilchards show up in large numbers. It's still to early in the season to find them around. Once the cold fronts start moving through they will show up
    The worst day of fishing is still better than the best day of work:\
  • JoepilotJoepilot Posts: 38 Deckhand
    I must admit it has been tough fishing for me on the backside of Key Largo. In the winter I can get descent Mangroves and Jacks and Bonnet head sharks, But I have not located the trout areas and I have never heard about Spanish Mackerel in that area. Card sound is a big open area of water and I have seen some birds working schools of Jacks in the open. Maybe someone on here can give both of us some info.