Needing a little help - rods - reels

SeapimpSeapimp Posts: 2 Greenhorn
Hello ive been fishing fresh and saltwater for better part of 40+ yrs but im from up north so im used to larger gear for big stripers and blues and ground fish . Im heading to the keys for six months and going to be fishing from shore for the most part and hopefully doing some inshore mostly . I have a penn battle 3000 ,5000, 6000 and looking to match some rods to them any help would be much apprieciated . Any input on the offshore angler rods from bass pro / world wide sportsmen ,or the hurricane redbone series for inshore . Again thanx and hopefully can return the favor . Pretty sure my 10' and 11' ft rods are a little big for surf fishing the keys and southern fla. not looking to go as high end as i do on my fresh water gear around $100 -$150 would be about right

Replies

• spearhead@eyelivetofi5h[email protected] Posts: 148 Officer
    This topic of a 100-150 rod and reel combo seems to be the money maker on the forums recently. The overall consensus is for the reel Penn Battle, west marine has a combo right now for 80 and you should probably get the 4000 model. As far as rods everyones welcome to their own style, but then again the forums have spoken Calico Jack seems to be the best band for your buck.
  • Jack HexterJack Hexter New Port RicheyPosts: 4,660 Moderator
    Your 3000 Battle will do just fine. I'd put it on a 7' St Croix Triumph rod for $100, probably a med action, maybe med light or med heavy. It's your choice
  • duckmanJRduckmanJR Posts: 20,192 AG
    the forums have spoken Calico Jack seems to be the best bang for your buck.

This...^^^^

Get the $10 off of $50 coupon for **** sporting goods and your Calico Jack is 52 bucks.... a nice 7 ft medium will go nicely with that battle 3000 and with proper line will toss nice little jigs etc...
    There are many roads to travel
    Many things to do.
    Knots to be unraveled
    'fore the darkness falls on you