New to SW FL and looking to hunt

Hello everyone,
I am new to SW FL, well FL in general. Moved down last year to get a teaching job. Have hunted and fished my whole life and was not able to get out at all last year. I honestly have no idea where to even start since I live in Ft. Myers. Wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction. I have been reading about the WMAs and visited babcock near Punta Gorda but not sure it it is worth it. Are you allowed to put up ladder stands? can you leave them in a spot or are climbers better. Looking to hunt anything hogs, turkey, deer, etc. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Replies

• pbsnookerpbsnooker Posts: 882 Officer
    The area around you Cecil Webb/Babcock are quota only hunting, you put in for permits the first of June and several other phases. It has a weekend archery season and a nine day general gun season. It's a nice place to hunt has some decent game but does get a little crowded for those few weekends. It does have some great dove and snipe hunting though. Go to myfwc.com and familiarize yourself with the permit procedures and dates of applications. There are some great areas within a couple hours of you but most are quota only.
  • pbsnookerpbsnooker Posts: 882 Officer
    Quotas for Webb are for deer/hog only not the migratory birds
  • Ruthless MillerRuthless Miller Posts: 11 Greenhorn
    Thanks! I guess I'll have to go old fashioned and ask farmers and land owners like back in PA.
  • Turner River TerrorTurner River Terror Posts: 6,896 Admiral
    Thanks! I guess I'll have to go old fashioned and ask farmers and land owners like back in PA.

This will work, Just have the cash hanging out of your pocket and blowing out the truck door when you open it.
    You want it to look like a Snow Storm , only with Hundreds $...and don't forget your American Express.....
    Killin and Grillin :grin
  • AgentXAgentX Posts: 584 Officer