Tarpon Aficionado's

Im new to Tarpon fishing but am hooked big time. I have a couple of questions that I hope some one will give me some true advise.

If you are fishing with Lady Fish (LF) do you prefer live or cut? If cut, do you see a better half, head or tail? If cut, are you soaking them on the bottom with weight (if necessary based on tidal flow) or are you hanging them below a cork?

In the absence of live bait, I've been told that the DOA Bait Buster is a favorite lure to throw. How are most working it, straight retrieve, jerking it one or two times as you would a Redfish or Spec lure?

Like I said, I'm new to this fish, I've hooked into eight over the last 6 months, landing only two that were baby's(3ft - 3.5ft). All were caught on Mirodean's or bait busters. The 6 I hooked and didn't land where real Tarpon that through the hook during its jumping.

Any advice?

Replies

• Mike ManningMike Manning Posts: 196 Officer
    Well you are leaving a lot of info out. are you casting at rolling tarpon that are schooled up? Or are you fishing single fishing ? are you fishing on a flat, river, open water????? there are several factors... If dead baiting you want it on the bottom and yes your lead will depend on the tide... does not matter you can use the head or tail... if you catch any sail cats use them the came way just break off the spines.... there are many ways to catch them and fish for them.. I generally land about 70 to 75% of the one I hook....
    www.catchtarpon.com
  • brinkleybrinkley Posts: 184 Officer
    Mike, thanks for the info. Here is some more info, Recently I have only seen one tarpon at a time. Today a very large one rolled in murky water right in front of my location. He/she swam toward a dead end. Of recent, I have not been casting toward schools. The water way is more of a lagoon, small opening dead end at one end. 8-12 feet deep, dark water, not much tidal rip.